Tank Releases “Sex, Love & Pain 2”

RnB singer/songwriter Durrell Babbs better known as his stage name Tank released the sequel to his grammy award winning album of 2007 “Sex, Love & Pain” which earned him R&B album of the year. He’s a talented singer, who has penned many hits for various artists when he worked at Timbaland’s Blackground music before he ventured off to sign a record deal with Atlantic records.

His sequel album “Sex, Love & Pain 2” has not started as strongly as the original which debuted at number 2 on the billboard charts. But one thing is certain many music legends like Tyrese, Ginuwine and more are taking to twitter to promote the brilliance of this album. Tank balances the sounds of old and new like the pro he is, unfortunately for him, he doesn’t consistently maintain this greatness.

Tank teams up with current trending artists such as Chris Brown, Rich Homie Quan, Wale and more on some of these songs to keep up with today’s sound and style. “SLP2” kicks off lusciously and truly showcases the elements of sex through its lyrics and sound. The single #BDAY is bound to get any generation of muso’s to the dance floor with it’s DJ Mustard sounding beats.

I give credit to Tank for the vocal work on SLP2 especially on the song “Already In Love” where he teams up with the gifted Shawn Stockman from legendary group Boyz II Men. One unusual aspect of this album is it ends on a skit, which is different, but leaves you in the lurch because you expect a closing song.

This 12 track album is nowhere near the greatness of the original album. His songwriting and vocals are superb as always and I can’t really fault that. Where I think the album goes wrong is he’s trying to be an artist he’s not, gone are the days of his slow jam brilliance and moves in a clubby r&b artist who thrives on swagger. Could the days of the genius be over for Tank? Let’s hope not, but waiting 10 years for this release like any fan I expected big things, and it just didn’t deliver for me.

Rating 1 out of 5

“Sex, Love & Pain 2” tracklist:

  1. SLP2
  2. You Don’t Know (feat. Wale)
  3. She Wit The Shit (feat. Rich Homie Quan)
  4. #Bday (feat. Chris Brown, Siya and Sage The Gemini)
  5. Fuckin Wit Me
  6. Relationship Goals
  7. I Love Ya (feat. Yo Gotti)
  8. So Cold
  9. Better For You
  10. Already In Love (feat. Shawn Stockman)
  11. Him Her Them
  12. Bishop Cognac (skit)

To Top