Kid Ink Drops His “7 Series” EP

“7 Series” is the brand new EP from American rapper Kid Ink, it was released on May 5th 2017 on RCA Records. Summer seems to be a season Kid Ink likes to dominate in and this year it’s no different releasing this 8 track EP for his fans. The new EP includes features from Ty Dolla $ign, Starrah and 2 Chainz, and is the follow-up to the rappers “Summer In The Winter” project from 2015. “7 Series” is available now for people to listen to on all streaming platforms including Apple Music, Tidal and Spotify.

The brand new single off the project is “F With U” featuring urban artist Ty Dolla $ign and it’s produced by hip hop heavyweight DJ Mustard. The single samples and puts a modern spin on Tamia’s 1998 hit “So Into You”. It’s quickly become a fan favorite among his fans, and could easily become a top contender for party track of the summer.  The other singles released prior were “Swish” and “Supasoaka” which also had his fans eagerly awaiting this project.

“F With U” has been met with great critical praise with Rolling Stone describing the track , “…a pulsating, tropical-flavored beat…,” The FADER raving, “…a hot new track…[with] an incredibly danceable beat,” and VIBE calling the song, “…dance-floor ready.” The song was also the most added at Rhythmic radio last week and has over 11 million streams worldwide on Spotify, Apple Music and YouTube/Vevo since its release in April. The video which was released for the track has bikin clad women having fun in the sun at a pool party whilst cops are trying to shut it down.  When I recorded ‘F With U,’ I was actually in Sydney, Australia, on tour, and the overall feel of the record mentally brought me back home to L.A.,” Ink told Billboard in a statement. “The summertime pool party concept for the video was perfect for us to execute the vibe of the record since it is meant to be a fun summer anthem you can enjoy poolside or driving with the top down.”

This EP doesn’t have the same urban feel as Ink’s last project, nor does it match “Summer In The Winter” calibre, as “7 Series” only has one produced DJ Mustard track. I think if Mustard and Ink teamed up more on this project it would of made it a more highly rated album. Never the less “7 Series” is still got some good vibes, and still contains some good club banger’s that fans of the artist can enjoy. Still for me as always Kid Ink’s biggest let down is his flow, is he singing is he rapping, no one ever really knows and I don’t want to feel every time I’m listening to his music I have decipher what kind of genre I’m listening to. If you’re a fan of Ink though you’ll enjoy this EP a lot, and be sure to drop us a line and let us know what you think.

Rating: 4 out of 5

“7 Series” tracklisting and credits:

  1. Supersoaka (Brian Collins/Shane Lindstrom/Murda Beatz/OZ)
  2. No Strings (featuring Starrah) (Collin/Teddy Pena/Brittany Hazzard/RetroFuture)
  3. F With U (featuring Ty Dolla $ign) (Collins/Tyrone Griffin/Dijon MacFarlane/Jordan Holt/DJ Mustard)
  4. Mochi (Collins/Ishmael Montague/Michael Holmes/ISM Beats/DZL)
  5. Sweet Chin Music (Collins/Dez Wright)
  6. Bad Lil Vibe (Collins/Holt/Gabrielle Nowee/Major Myjah/J-Holt)
  7. Lottery (Collins/Free School/Darnell Got It/Joe Logic)
  8. Swish (featuring 2 Chainz) (Collins/Tauheed Epps/Andre Proctor/Dre Moon/Hitmaka)

*Image Source: lyricfablog.com

To Top