Ty Dolla $ign’s Infectious New Album “Beach House 3”


On October 27th American singer Ty Dolla $ign released his highly anticipated new album “Beach House 3” which was distributed by Atlantic Records. The album features a galaxy of rappers and singers including Lil Wayne, Tory Lanez, Pharrell Williams, The Dream, YG, Wiz Khalifa and rumored girlfriend Fifth Harmony’s Lauren Jauregui. As for producers the names are just as star filled with the likes of DJ Mustard, Mike WILL Made It, Skrillex, Mike Dean and more lending a hand. So far the two lead singles are “Love U Better (featuring Lil Wayne and The Dream)” and “So Am I (feat. Damian Marley and Skrillex)” with the rumored third forthcoming single “In Your Phone (feat. Lauren Jauregui)” the next to drop. This album is the third released in Ty Dolla $igns ‘Beach House’ series.

“I sung my ass off. But it’s still gonna be a mainstream vibe. That’s all I’m trying to do: Make a lane for the singers.” Ty said about “Beach House 3” in an interview with Rolling Stone. Ty is currently in prime position to be sable to achieve this. During just the past three years, he has taken over R&B mainstream with vocal firepower and an up-to-date  vibe in popular beats. Many of his peers have struggled to crack the airwaves in recent years, but last week Ty appeared four times in the mainstream R&B/Hip-Hop airplay Top 40, currently more than any other singer or rapper. Rapper YG shared his thoughts on Ty by simply saying “Right now, Ty is the best R&B singer, period, Put that in bold.” Ty Dolla $ign has become a much wanted artist over the past few years featuring as a vocalist, 20 songs in just 2014 alone.

In 2015 Ty’s debut album “Free TC” failed to gain popular traction, but for someone like myself who’s not a big hip hop I thought the album was brilliant. It featured my favorite hip hop song of the last 3 years called “Saved (feat. E-40)” which was produced by hitmaker DJ Mustard. “It didn’t sell platinum or anything, but it’s still a classic fucking record, and if you don’t know, you better ask somebody,” he said about his debut studio album. But with a first release not really impressing the charts, it was a huge focus of Ty’s to make this second effort something that would blow the roof off.


So what’s to expect from “Beach House 3”? The start of the album leads us into the notion that Ty believes fame is something that is seeked by all. The acoustic ballad “Famous” expands on his thoughts and is a different sound were used to hearing from the “Paranoid” singer which was an explosive track back in 2014. This album is a 20-track set full of possible hits and charming bangers. It’s been compared to that of Drake’s “More Life” project, an album built with infectious slow jams and also heavy hip hop beats to put on your playlist and keep on repeat. The song “Dawsin’s Beek”which was used as a promo single and produced by Mike WILL Made It is probably the most catchiest tune on the album and features R&B crooner Jeremih who seems to be popping up on features more and more now days. This song I think has the ability to conquer the charts if it’s promoted well enough. It’s quite peculiar that the union of Ty Dolla $ign and Jeremih hasn’t caused more traction for the single but it’s one of the many songs on BH3 to make an impact.

“Beach House 3” has the warmth of a summer vacation; music for the beach, jet ski’s and beach house party’s. With songs like “Love U Better” the DJ Mustard produced banger, as one of the party starters, there’s no doubt it’ll make for song of the Summer. The song contains a lot of samples, and there’s always been something catchy about that and it gives listeners a chance to latch onto the past and present. People might discover more familiarity on the track “Ex” featuring YG, which samples Bad Boy’s group 112’s hit single “Only You”. The great thing about this album is Ty’s versatility, it isn’t your usual R&B album as there is a lot of different avenue’s he’s taken in the sound department. He acquired the help of Skillrex and Damian Marley to give a more tropical vibe on the song “So Am I”, which fits so well with the beach theme of this album.

My favorite song on the album would have to be “In Your Phone” featuring Lauren Jauregui, which is pretty much a modern day version of Drake’s “Hotline Bling” with a little more sex appeal and less annoyance. The great thing you can always expect from a Ty album is he follows the same formula everytime, great sounds, great production and a star studded cast to help you make hits. The right vibe is present and a the perfect formula has been followed, but the question remains will this album finally be the one that get’s Ty the commercial recognition he needs as a stand alone artist. For me “Beach House 3” isn’t as strong as “Free TC”, as I’m not a big fan of the tropical theme he’s taken on it. But I still can’t deny the great work that was put into it and the tracks I mentioned above, which give for a great listen. “Beach House 3” is out now.

Rating: 2.5/5

“Beach House 3” tracklist:

  1. Famous
  2. Famous Lies
  3. Love You Better f. Lil Wayne & The-Dream
  4. Ex f. YG
  5. Famous Excuses
  6. DropTop In The Rain f. Tory Lanez
  7. Don’t Judge Me f. Future & Swae Lee
  8. Dawsin’s Breek f. Jeremih
  9. Don’t Sleep On Me f. Future & 24Hrs
  10. Stare f. Pharrell Williams & Wiz Khalifa
  11. Famous Friends
  12. So Am I f. Damian Marley & Skrillex
  13. Lil Favorite f. MadeinTYO
  14. In Your Phone f. Lauren Jauregui
  15. All The Time
  16. Famous Amy
  17. Side Effects
  18. Famous Last Words
  19. Message In A Bottle
  20. Nate Howard Intro

To Top