Fifth Harmony’s “7/27” A Pop Masterpiece

7/27 is the second studio album by this American girl group and was released on May 27th, 2016 on Epic Records. The album’s lead single, “Work From Home”, was released on February 26, 2016, and has peaked at number 1 on the Billboard 100, becoming their highest charting single in the United States. They’re the first all girl group to peak into the charts since the Pussycat Dolls and Destiny’s Child, earning themselves the nickname ‘Destiny’s Children’.

It’s been 16 months since Dinah Jane Hansen, Ally Hernandez, Normani Kordei, Camila Cabello and Lauren Jauregui released their last studio album Reflections and musically a lot has changed in the sound of pop music. We’ve seen the birth of OMI with his tropical house sound, and Justin Bieber come out with an electro pop influenced album, so it’s only natural Fifth Harmony would embrace all of this on 7/27.

Fifth Harmony currently stand alone when it comes to a talented all girl group, and seem to be the only one’s making waves on the charts at the moment. There single “Work From Home” became the first number 1 pop hit by an all girl group since the Pussycatdolls released “Buttons”. Throughout listening to 7/27, you can tell from their vocals just how much the group has matured and with the help of producers Stargate, just how in trend they are with today’s current sound. Interestingly, the album focuses more on love and heartbreak than the all-out girl power of Reflection.

Fifth Harmony not only acquire the help of great writers and producers for this album, but they also get help from some popular names to date in the music industry to feature on there songs including Ty Dolla $ign and rapper Fetty Wap. The thing I loved most about 7/27 is if your looking for pop, hip hop or dance, you can pretty much get all three of those elements on this CD much like Bieber developed on “Purpose”. The albums first single “Work From Home” peaked in the top 10 in 5 countries including Australia, Germany, Canada, New Zealand and The Netherlands. Metacritic gave it a favorable result scoring it 72 out of 100, stating “There’s sass, there’s vulnerability, there’s sexiness; it draws upon all the emotions a great pop album craves”.

If your looking for catchy hooks, high energy and incredible harmonies then this album is for you. It shows you if you take the time and enlist the help of great producers, you can make a valiant effort on a great album.

Rating : 4 out of 5

7/27 tracklisting and credits:

  1. That’s My Girl (Tinashe/Lukas Loules/Alex Purple)
  2. Work From Home (feat. Ty Dolla $ign) (Tyronne Griffin/Dallas K/Brian Lee)
  3. The Life (Alex Purple/Kachingwe)
  4. Write On Me (Stargate/Kygo)
  5. I Lied (James Abrahart/James Wong/The Monsters and The Strangerz)
  6. All In My Head (flex) (feat. Fetty Wap) (Stargate/Benny Blanco/Sir Nolan)
  7. Squeeze (Stargate/Kygo)
  8. Gonna Get Better (Stargate)
  9. Scared Of Happy (Stargate/Bloodpop)
  10. Not That Kinda Girl (feat. Missy Elliot) (Melissa Elliot/Jared Cotter/Aaron Pearce)
  11. Dope (Justin Tranter/Jack Antonoff)
  12. No Way (Victoria Monet)


*Image Source:

Written By: Neill Frazer

No Comments

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: