in ,

The Hit List: Maroon 5, Benny Blanco, Dua Lipa, Backstreetboys, Gucci Mane, Dustin Tebbutt…

Maroon 5 – “Beautiful Goodbye”: This song was taken from the bands 2012 album “Overexposed”, but it’s a track that many people may not be familiar with. It was certainly a song I had to expose, and one I only came across with in the last week. It’s a bit different from their usual club friendly songs, and offers an acoustic ode that’s bittersweet, yet ultimately positive, and one that could have found a home on any Maroon 5 record.

Benny Blanco & Calvin Harris – “I Found You”: Benny Blanco has teamed up with Grammy Award-winning and multi-platinum selling recording artist Calvin Harris for the new single “I Found You”. It’s the producers second ever release as an artist and follows his world wide smash hit “Eastside” featuring Halsey and Khalid. This also comes off the back of Harris’ latest release, “Promises” with Sam Smith, which reached #1 at Billboard’s Club Chart and spent six weeks at #1 in the U.K., making it Harris’ tenth #1 single in the U.K.

Dua Lipa & Black Pink – “Kiss And Make Up”: Dua Lipa added a unique collaboration to her self titled album with K-pop group Black Pink. The new song is a vibrant, rhythmic bilingual dance track about trying to “Kiss and Make Up” before a relationship ends in break up. It features the vocals of the four members of BLACKPINK — Jisoo, Rosé, Lisa, and Jennie, as they weave Korean and English with Dua Lipa’s huskier tone. 

Backstreetboys – “Chances”: After six years, boyband the Backstreetboys have announced they will be releasing their tenth studio album entitled “DNA”, in January next year. BSB have released their second single in slew of the announcement called “Chances”. The single poses the situation on the odds of meeting that special someone just by living your life. The group has clearly updated their sound in comparison to their 90s bubblegum pop hits, opting for a more contemporary pop sound.

Gucci Mane – “BiPolar” (featuring Quavo): Gucci Mane is about to release his brand new album called “Evil Genius”, but before then the rap star will tease fans with his new track “BiPolar”. “Bipolar” follows previously released tracks “I’m Not Goin’” (featuring Kevin Gates), “Wake Up in the Sky” (with Bruno Mars and Kodak Black), and “Solitaire” (featuring Migos and Lil Yachty). The LP will also feature collaborations with 21 Savage, Lil Skies and YoungBoy Never Broke Again.

Cheat Codes – “Feeling Of Falling” (feat. Kim Petras): Pop singer Kim Petras has had a good 2018, and it’s about to go to great now her new track with the Cheat Codes has dropped. The new single entitled “Feeling Of Falling”, is three and a half minutes of pure joy. Cheat Codes like normal deliver the  infectious synths that burrow their way into your brain so thoroughly, you’ll be humming the tune for days. 

Dustin Tebbutt – “All Your Love”: Dustin Tebbutt has shared his new single All Your Love”, taken from his forthcoming EP ‘Chasing Gold’. When I heard this song I was simply captivated and now the world is about to be breath taken as well. Featuring soothing melodies, the stripped back track feels like it belongs on ‘The Notebook’ soundtrack.

This is what Dustin had to day about the single: “During the process of writing ‘All Your Love’ with Flight Facilities, I was at home one evening and was playing around with some random guitar parts, and started singing the verse over the top of them. The combination was really striking and for some reason seemed to tell a different side of the story to the original version of the track. I like how the two versions sound side by side now; the same song, but occupying totally different worlds.”

What do you think?

Written by Neill Frazer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

INsiders Guide: Sara Diamond, Lauren Duski, Crimson Calamity, Robert Kantor

INsiders Guide: Smallpools New EP, Plus Ryan Gibeau, BlissBliss, Matt LeGrand