in , ,

The Hit List: Khalid, Miguel, James Arthur, The Greeting Committee, Haux, Demi Lovato, Quinn XCX, Paris Jackson….

Khalid – “New Normal”: Khalid has announced his third album Everything Is Changing with a new video and single “New Normal.” In a statement, Khalid said that he was “inspired by how I was feeling during the pandemic and the emotional toll that quarantine took on me and my friends. This album really takes that a step further with all of the songs centering around trying to find a purpose and a sense of self in a world where everything is digitally connected but emotionally disconnected. As we all come out of quarantine and venture more into the world and try to reconnect with people we haven’t seen in over a year, I hope the messages explored within the album open up conversations and allow people to access their feelings in a new way.”

J Balvin & Khalid – “Otra Noche Sin Ti”: J Balvin has teamed up with Khalid for their first collaboration “Otra Noche Sin Ti.” Produced by Lexuz and Keityn, the track is a soulful reggaeton song that laces a romantic urban beat with a pop-soul melody about a man who can’t fathom the fact that the love of his life is gone. This single is so catchy and destined for some major radio play.

Miguel – “Funeral”: It’s been a while since we’ve heard any new music from R&B singer Miguel, but that has all changed since he released his new single “Funeral” taken from his EP of the same name. The Funeral EP is currently out now. “I’m releasing more music all the way into the new year but ‘Funeral’ is the perfect song to get it started,” Miguel said in a statement. “I’ve been exploring darker tones and themes for some time, this song whets the imagination for what’s to come.”

James Arthur – “Medicine”:  In a press release, Arthur said, “‘Medicine’ is an uplifting ode to self, to relationships, to community and connection, and to the healing, restorative powers of love over adversity. It is, you might say, the perfect song for spring 2021. The last year has forced any couple to look at themselves. It held a mirror up to us all, didn’t it? And my partner was hugely supportive through that whole time. There are some pretty dark lyrics in there: ‘When I’m suicidal, you don’t let me spiral…'”. In an interview with the Official Charts Company, he said, “When I wrote it six months ago there was no vaccine or any end in sight to this. I definitely felt at the time that I’d like to get this song out as soon as possible, knowing that it would probably be another six months before the world would hear it. It’s almost even more fitting now that there’s a light at the end of the tunnel.”

The Greeting Committee – “17”: This band from Kansas City caught my attention with their single ’17’ which featured in the Netflix movie ‘To All The Boys’. Although the single was released back in 2018, it’s worth an add to your playlists. The song is taken from the bands second EP “Meeting People Is Easy”.

Haux – “Salt”: This lesser known artist has quickly made his way onto my radar. His music is very moving to say the least, and the productions are also quite incredible. Haux delivers a dreamy fusion of indie electronic, pop, and folk.

Demi Lovato – “15 Minutes”: Justin Tranter, one of the songwriters involved on Dancing With The Devil, Demi Lovato’s new album, spoke on the single “15 Minutes” saying the song was written during a weeklong COVID-safe songwriting camp in Malibu, where Lovato would rotate through rooms in the rented mansion of different teams of producers and writers. When Demi heard a scratch vocal of the song, she “just started sobbing. It was really emotional, and really something that Demi needed to do and say.” The song was produced by one of my favourite producers OAK.

Quinn XCX – “My Wife And 2 Dogs”: Singer-songwriter Quinn XCII dropped a new song from his forthcoming album, Change of Scenery II. “My Wife & 2 Dogs” is built on guitar strings and vibing drums and a thumping bass line, delivering the signature melodic universe of Quinn XCII. “My Wife & 2 Dogs” follows the release of the album’s first single “Stay Next To Me” featuring Chelsea Cutler.

Struts & Paris Jackson – “Low Key In Love”: The Struts have teamed up with Paris Jackson on new song ‘Low Key In Love’. It’s the rock band’s first release since their 2020 album ‘Strange Days’, which saw them collaborate with the likes of Robbie Williams. “‘Low Key In Love’ was written after a date in Los Angeles at 70’s retro bar, frontman Luke Spiller said of the track, “I walked into the studio explaining that we needed the song to have the essence you feel when entering the bar and absorb the vibe. When we decided to explore the idea of a duet, I thought back to that night and remembered that Paris played a brilliant acoustic set. Something inside was telling me that everything happened for a reason, so I decided to message her. I’m convinced some things are just written in the stars. Bringing in Paris just gave the song a whole new dimension and really brings the story to life. She is beautiful and brilliant. A star.”

What do you think?

Written by Neill Frazer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Exclusive Interview with The Star Of Disney+ film “Jungle Cruise”: Philipp Maximillian

Trailer: Serena and Venus Williams Story Comes To Life In ‘King Richard’